Mrs. Julie Abel - President

Mr. Ron Anglin - Vice President

Mrs. Valerie Cain - Secretary

Mr. David Belusko - Board Member

Mr. Mark Bloome - Board Member

Mr. Mike Fleming - Board Member

Mr. Gregg Hires - Board Member

See contact information above

Individuals may submit questions or communications for the School Board's consideration to the Superintendent or may use the electronic link to the Board's email address(es) that is posted on the District's website. In accordance with the Open Meetings Act and the Oath of Office taken by Board members, individual Board members will not (a) reply to an email on behalf of the entire Board, or (b) engage in the discussion of District business with a majority of a Board-quorum.

Board Members

The Litchfield Community Unit School District #12 Board of Education is responsible for the hiring and supervision of the Superintendent of Schools, and setting district policies. Each of the seven board members is elected to a four-year term and serves without compensation. Board members choose to serve their school district as a result of their dedication to education of children in a public setting, and the desire to provide opportunities for all students to learn.

The Board of Education meets on the third Tuesday of the month, with possible exceptions for holidays. All School Board meetings are held at Litchfield High School, 1705 North State St., Litchfield, IL. Board of Education meetings begin at 6:00 pm unless otherwise noted. All Board of Education meetings follow Illinois State Law regarding the Open Meetings Act.

Each Illinois school board member who is elected or appointed to fill a vacancy of at least one year’s duration must receive professional development leadership training (PDLT) and Open Meetings Act (OMA) training. Mandatory training is also required upon Performance Evaluation Reform Act implementation in each school district. For additional information, see Board policy 2:120, Board Member Development.

Julie Abel  
Open Meetings Act: 10/10/2017 
PERA & PDLT: 10/11/2017

Ron Anglin
Open Meetings Act: 1/18/2012 
PERA & PDLT: 6/14/2013

David Belusko
Open Meetings Act: 11/30/2019
PERA & PDLT: 02/24/2020

Mark Bloome
Open Meetings Act: 

Valerie Cain
Open Meetings Act: 9/17/2018 

Mike Fleming
Open Meetings Act: 7/12/2019
PERA & PDLT: 7/12/2019

Basic Governance: 7/13/2019

Gregg Hires
Open Meetings Act: 5/29/2015
PERA & PDLT: 5/29/2015

The Illinois Association of School Boards (IASB) is a voluntary organization of local boards of education dedicated to strengthening the Illinois public schools through local citizen control. Although not a part of State government, IASB is organized by member school boards as a private not-for-profit corporation under authority granted by Article 23 of the School Code. The vision of IASB is excellence in local school board governance supporting quality public education.

For more information regarding IASB and its programs, visit